No Excuses. Just Write.

I just spent a week in Hawaii, and it made me realize something:

I’m angry. Have been for a while. I don’t want to be anymore.

I have been writing in the hope of being traditionally published for four years, this October. I remember the moment with great clarity that I decided to make that my goal. And, in retrospect, that may have been my first mistake.

I was sitting on my stoop in Brooklyn, and I decided to discontinue the blog I’d started when we moved to New York City in favor of creating a writing-centered blog to begin building my author platform. I didn’t even have a finished draft yet, and already I was plotting my future as an author. Already, I was thinking about what kind of brand I wanted to create. Already, I was setting myself up for heartache.

This post will be inspirational. I’ll get to that part in a minute.

I did finish a draft. And then I revised. And revised. And revised. And every time I did, I wanted it to be the last time. I wanted someone to tell me yes, this book is no longer a red hot mess. I got a lot of feedback. That manuscript helped me make a lot of writer friends and industry connections because it was promising, but it was never quite right.

I got tired of revising it and around that time I finished my shiny new idea. I revised. I revised again. I sent it to readers and got fantastic feedback. I did a revise and resubmit with an agent. The resubmit went well, all signs pointed to Yes, and then instead nothing at all happened. The agent fell off the face of the planet. I never heard from her again.

Whether it was right or not, I got angry. Yes, I did the proper thing and acted cool. I told myself this was not my fault. I told myself this was just business. I force fed every line of positive energy bullshit I could down my throat. I faked a positive attitude. I began to query more widely. I got a lot of requests, fast, and there were a couple of weeks there in January where I was flying high.

But the Anger was still there. It had a higher threshold for patience than I did. As the months of waiting dragged on, it festered. It seeped into my heart and mind and creative force. I sat down to write, anything, and Anger distracted me with self-pity. I griped about the Industry, and Anger became more powerful in my disgust. I saw certain books become successful, books I read and didn’t love, didn’t like, didn’t get. I struggled to read at all. Agents requested, agents rejected, agents didn’t get back to me. I decided Agents could go fuck themselves.

I’m a bit of a potty-mouth. Anger made that worse.

I kept having accidents and injuring myself, and Anger managed to make even those about my failure as a writer. Because since I wanted to be published, since I had decided that publishing was my goal, the fact that I wasn’t yet meant my writing was bad. It meant I was clearly on the wrong path, and I needed to realize it. It meant my talent, my love of story, my imagination, was substandard. It wasn’t enough to know what I loved and get to do it — I needed to succeed. I needed to win. I should just give up.

This wasn’t happening without my knowledge. I am not a victim. Anger became my ally. It made me feel validated in my procrastination, or lack of perseverance with the manuscripts I had started, or querying some more, or deciding anything, ever about my career.

The week before I left for Hawaii I started a new project. Well, a reimagining of that first novel. The one I gave up on. The one I wrote because I wanted to get published. As the words poured onto the page, I forgot to be angry. I forgot to feel sorry for myself, or to hate the agents that said no or said nothing, I forgot everything because the words were more important, the voice was all that mattered. It was a small victory against Anger, and it was the first step in breaking that alliance.

On the way to Hawaii I was scrolling through my Twitter feed and saw another writer announce they had landed an agent. And I should have been happy for them — I was happy for them, really, deep down — except Anger reminded me of all the reasons I shouldn’t be. Of all that I deserved and hadn’t received, of all the wrongness. I shut my Twitter feed and felt tears well in my eyes. I was tired of being angry. It was making this hard thing harder, and in order to win, I would need to let it go. And winning would have to become something else. And everything would have to change.

This realization followed me to the Islands, where I looked out over the ocean and asked for clarity.

The real problem was me. And the only person I was hurting, the only successful victim in my alliance with Anger against the publishing industry, was me and my writing. Me and the thing that I love.

The clarity I asked for, I received. The Islands operate on a different wavelength than the rest of the world. They move at a different rhythm. I move dangerously fast. I hate waiting. I see time as a commodity I will never have enough of. I want everything. I want to be everything. I am pulled in a million directions by me and no one else because I am afraid of missing it. I am afraid of not doing all the things I am supposed to do.

Ultimately, I, not Anger, am my own worst enemy. And I don’t know if that will ever really change, but I do know that I have to forgive myself for not meeting that goal yet. I have to forgive publishing, and Agents, for not doing things the way I want them to. I have to forgive my writing for still being a work in progress. I will only have me to blame if I let Anger win instead of Perseverance.

In the end, the only thing we have power over, no matter what we’re trying for, is ourselves and our attitude. So, no excuses. Just write. And then rewrite. And then start again. You are never finished, but you are good enough in your unfinished state.

feet in water

16 thoughts on “No Excuses. Just Write.

  1. Thank you for writing this blog…this is how I have been feeling, for different reasons but ultimately, Anger has been driving. I feel inspired to regain control and stop feeling sorry…God Bless you

  2. Thank you for being so honest Rebekah. I’ve so enjoyed you as a friend and fellow writer, and hate that the journey has been such a struggle. I so feel you. I hate saying that because I did finally land an agent, but I have been here. I come to this place a lot. So this was inspiring, and I appreciate it.

    • Liz, thank you for this. I enjoy you as a friend and fellow writer as well. Love our Twitter write-ins. I am so glad you have an agent, and I know that you don’t get to that point without this struggle, but it is always good to hear that someone in the next stage of the game remembers this stage and got past it. This place has been hard for me to shake, and I in no way think I have it shook. So knowing I’m not alone in that is encouraging.

    • Thank you for telling me that! And for the retweet, too. I am so glad to know that I am not alone in this feeling — it really helps!

  3. First, hugs to you. It’s not easy. And I hate how the anger, frustration, and even jealousy sneak their way in bit by bit until BOOM one day it seems like that’s all you feel. But I think it’s impossible not to have those feelings when you work so tirelessly toward a goal. Those emotions mean you really care and you have invested a lot of yourself into your work. Maybe this is a strange way of looking at it, but I think we are capable of having both anger and joy inside us at the same time. Maybe it’s just a trick of making sure the joy is stronger than the anger? Perhaps that’s more manageable than trying to completely banish the anger. That’s what I try to do. (Doesn’t always work lolz.)

    Also, I don’t know if this helps or not, but I 100% believe you will get an agent. You are too talented and dedicated not to. I have a feeling this will be part of the journey that you’ll look back on later and understand the strength and patience it’s painstakingly taught you. Until that, more and more and more hugs.

    • It very much helps to hear you think I will get an agent, especially since you have read my writing and are also very talented yourself. Thank you for riding the roller coaster with me, Court! xo

  4. From my own “unfinished state”…. I LOVED this post. I’m a new follower and you’re writing here makes me chuckle, tear up, nod my head, reconsider, revise and keep going. Keep being you. You have an uncanny ability to recharge those who are reading. Thank you for sharing “you”. ~Donna

  5. Pingback: Finding Why: in Life and in Fiction | Rebekah Faubion, Writer

Leave a Reply

