Ready. Set. Write! and My Goals

rsw2

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at with our writing projects—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing.  This year, your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin FunkElodie Nowodazkij, and myself. All the details are HERE.

This is (I think!) my third year participating in RSW, and I can promise that it is worth the commitment. Accountability and community are key to the solitary life of a writer. We need each other more because so much of being a writer means being inside your own head, warring with fictional characters and sorting out plot and stakes and getting words out.

So, I am excited to join in. And here are my goals:

  1. Get my BEAT SHEET finalized for my screenplay There’s Life Outside Comic Con. Now that I am working with a consultant, I am not allowed to move forward until the Beat Sheet (from Save the Cat!) proves this script will hit all the high notes.
  2. Begin the Revision on that screenplay, with the hope of completing another draft by the middle of July. (When I will be at San Diego Comic Con!)
  3. Start a revision of my manuscript Of Blood and Promises. I had back burnered it for a while to focus on screenwriting. I am moving slow with this, and need to be right now since that’s not my #1 priority. So, just knowing how to start and starting is my goal for the summer.
  4. Do a Beat Sheet draft for at least one more feature.
  5. Read the books I want to read, as many or as few, and let myself be moved, take time, stay up all night.
  6. Continue to work out every weekday. I have been exercising for the last six weeks and am seeing happy-making results. I am doing nothing for diet, but don’t want to. My goal is strength and stamina and feeling good about my body. That’s it.

Next week (Monday, June 15th) we’ll be posting our first update using these headings…

1.  How I did on last week’s goals.

2.  My goal(s) for this week.

3.  A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

4.  The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write).

5.  Something I love about my WiP.

I hope you join in! I’ll be cheering you on if you do. 

14 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! and My Goals

  1. Great goals for your summer, Rebekah! I’m so happy you’re joining us again! And how great is it that you’re working on a Comic Con-related screenplay when you’re actually going to be at Comic Con?! Very cool. Hope you have a great week hitting those goals!

    1. Rebekah

      Comic Con has somehow become this major, almost fated, thing in my life. I was working on the screenplay before I knew I could go to SDCC this year. So doing the work on this screenplay as I prepare to go, feels very right.

  2. Yay! These goals are awesome! I’m especially excited about you working on OF BLOOD AND PROMISES. 😀

    Also, kudos to making a workout goal and for working out these last 6 weeks. That is a feat in and of itself. I’ve been trying to work out more, too, but I wasn’t brave enough to make it an actual goal. Good luck, and I’m so excited about our writing dates this week! ❤

    1. Rebekah

      I am so excited to step back into that story and really figure out what I need to do to make it shine.

      I finally accepted that the need to work out is an unfortunate reality once you hit 30. At least, for me.

      I’m so looking forward to writing with you guys this week! I miss my writer peeps!

  3. Yes, I fully support these goals. And I cannot wait to read the revision of TLOCC and see what you do with OB&P after our emails today. So many exciting revisions for this summer!

  4. Comic Con – awesome!

    My fitness plan is very similar to yours – I work out a lot, but don’t worry about a diet. Exercise endorphins make me happy and so does food so win-win!

    Good luck with your goals this summer!

  5. Okay, now I want to revise my reading goal to match yours. I love your approach. 🙂 Best of luck with your screenplays and beat sheets and workouts. So looking forward to writing with you again this summer!

  6. Alison Miller

    Dude. I just loved OF BLOOD AND PROMISES so hard and I’m so glad you’re still working on that. Also, this Comic Con screen play sounds awesome. I remember you posting snippets last summer and I’m excited to see more. 🙂 Good luck with all the things this week! You can do it!

  7. Spot on about accountability and community being vital for a writer. I’ve been part of a year-long “challenge” along the same lines as the RSW called the ROW80, and it really helped me. Best of luck and progress toward your goals. 😀

Leave a Reply

