Ready. Set. Write! Update 3

RSW7

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at with our writing projects—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing.  This year, your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin FunkElodie Nowodazkij, and myself. All the details are HERE.

How I Did on Last Week’s Goals:

Writing- I began work on my screenplay revision on Thursday and was able to get 9 pages that day. I also finished the BEAT SHEET for the other screenplay I’m working on. It’s still a rough draft, but I love the idea and where it’s going.

Reading – I finished Things We Know By Heart by Jessie Kirby, but haven’t had a chance to start any new reads yet. I plan to start A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas next.

Workout – I kept up my exercise routine, and added in two sessions with my brother the personal trainer. This week I would like to do the same!

My Goals This Week:

Wrting:

1. Get between 5-15 pages on my screenplay every day this week. I won’t have a full finished revision before I leave for Comic Con and Los Angeles, but I’ll be more than half way through.

Reading:

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas next.

Life/Workout:

1. Start knocking stuff off my “getting ready for Comic Con list” and don’t panic about the fact that it’s almost here.

2. Workout every day, do two sessions with my brother this week.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

Line of Dialog from one of my characters, Simon.

But here, we can be anything. Here, maybe there’s way to save the damsel. Even if the damsel is you.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write).

Focus. I have a lot going on right now, like everyone, and focusing on the task at hand without getting distracted with future tasks, other tasks I should be dealing with, was a real hurdle this week.

Something I love about my WiP.

I love that by the end of this revision I will have a largely different story than I had at the end of the first draft, but will still feature all the same characters, just deeper versions of themselves. The power of revision in action!

What are your goals this week?

8 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update 3

  1. Also, one of my favorite parts of revision – really digging deep and getting to know and explore my characters and their relationships. And I love that line you shared, lady! Also, yeah – focus tends to be a problem for me. It is hard to focus when there are a lot of other things going on. Good luck this week with all the things!

  2. You did great meeting your goals this week, Rebekah! I bet when you get home from Comic-Con you’re going to just fly through the rest of that screenplay revision. Talk about inspiration! I hear you on the focus thing. Yep. Between busyness and the fact that it’s summer… My focus is all over the place. And you have something REALLY exciting to look forward to, so I don’t know how you’re focusing even a little bit. LOL Have a great week!

  3. THINGS WE KNOW BY HEART 🙂 Loved loved loved that book (as you know :P). Yay for progress on your revision! Cheering you on and looking forward to hearing more about Comic Con!

  4. You are rocking these beat sheets. (I promise to get you notes on the newest one today!!) Love seeing how plotting is working out for you. I know it’s not your favorite thing, but I think it’s training your brain to think differently so as you move forward, things will be easier to write. 🙂

  5. I love that about revisions, too, Rebekah. In fact, I really, really dislike drafting because everything’s such a mess. I’d much rather dig in and make things pretty. Best of luck finding focus and rocking your goals this week!

Leave a Reply

