The Modern Author Life

Things Writers like JK Rowling and Anne Rice and Stephen King didn’t have to worry about when launching their careers:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Immediate Human Contact

Things authors need to worry about when launching their careers now:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Immediate Human Contact

And, oh, GIVEAWAYS.

After the giveaway drama of yesterday I wrote my friend and told her I would never do it again. I didn’t like the pressure. I felt powerless and unsafe and nauseous and my fingernail polish was all chipped off from panic. And if it’s like that on a small scale, how will it be when people actually care later on?

She suggested that giveaway’s were essential to our chosen career path. That they are expected of authors, especially Young Adult authors, and never say never. She encouraged me not to worry.

And there’s the rub: I worry a lot.

Writers as a species are over-thinkers. We humans created to write stories tend to have over-active, vivid, and often, dark imaginations. We are good at thinking up elaborate scenarios for failure and malady. We are designed to do this so we can get our characters into circumstances that require heroism. You need us to be this way so you get stories that make you feel things.

Take a person like that and throw them into any situation where the outcome is unknown and they will start to devise schemes for failure or triumph. We’re not always dark, sometimes those imaginations that create detailed worlds and intricate plots also dream up wild success stories. We can sort of be like the mirror of Erised. Like, look at me with the House Cup and being a glorious Head Girl and my mom is crying tears of joy…

I’m veering off topic.

The changing landscape of the publishing world means we as authors have to become more comfortable with a whole heap of things outside our control. We have to roll with punches and we have to guard our words and we may need to drink at night or take up a spin class to deal with that anxiety of ALL THE UNKNOWN and HOW WE CAN FAIL and IT’S ALL SO PUBLIC NOW.

We also need to be honest. We need to let people in on our not okay all the time-ness. We need to be allowed to say we don’t know what we’re doing and we are making it up as we go along and we do yes please need a well-timed gif of a kitten in a coffee cup tweeted at us.

As difficult as

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Actual human contact

Can be

It can be so very wonderful,too. Super rewarding. But not if it feels unsafe. Not if we think we HAVE to. Not if we aren’t authentic.

Giveaways will happen. But not because I think it’s my responsibility as an author. I can be an author without that. I am very clever. I could find my way around it.

But my responsibility to future fans (Hey, you guys are so fancy and bad ass and I love you. ❤ Future Me) is to make the internet as it relates to my books and my chosen path of Young Adult Book Pusher accessible and fun and shiny. That is something of value, and I like adding value to lives.

I agree with my friend: Giveaways are useful. Readers and writers alike enjoy them, but they are scary and stressful for me.

So is publishing my stories. It’s scares me, but it’s worth it. It’s worth it to me to do the things JK and Anne and Stephen didn’t have to if it means I’m doing the best for my fans and my book.

I will always worry. I will never be cool. My brain will inevitably veer into dangerous territory any time I face a situation outside my control. I think it’s better to deal with all that, and also do something I love, than to be sitting alone in my office writing into a vacuum and never trying anything that scares me.

Fear means you’re alive. Fear means you’re doing something right.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Modern Author Life

  1. Whenever I ran my first rafflecopter and realized that people couldn’t enter on their phones, I was like HOW DOES EVERYONE ELSE RUN A GEE DEE FLAWLESS RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY AND I CAN’T DO THIS ONE SIMPLE THING????

    But this is a great post for all writers/authors to see. I definitely feel the pressure to “know what I’m doing” as a writer. Whether it’s giveaways, understanding book deals, meeting people, knowing who agents/editors are and what they’re interested in, having a blog/website, Twittering, Snapchatting, WHATEVER it is. We’re supposed to always know, and I hate feeling like that dorky kid who’s completely clueless all the time! But I also agree with your friend. Don’t sweat the giveaway flub. We’re here to learn, which means we will occasionally feel foolish or scared or anxious. I just have to remind myself that most likely no one will hold my ignorance against me as long as I learn and improve the next time. Because we ARE capable of learning anything (even exasperating giveaway software), and I have no doubt you’ll figure out a giveaway system that works for you! Hugs!!! ❤

    1. Rebekah

      Court, you are one of my favorite people ever. I think it’s even more about feeling stressed out about disappointing even a few people. Do you think male authors worry about that?

      We won’t ever have it all figured out. It will have changed by then. We just gotta do us everyday.

  2. Pingback: Wellness Wednesday: SURRENDER | Model Behaviors

Leave a Reply

